Academic Calendar

SUMMER 2022
Event Summer Session I Summer Session II
Registration begins for all students Wednesday, February 2 Wednesday, February 2
Intent to graduate 4 May 9 through June 17 May 9 through June 17
Classes begin 1 Monday, May 9 Monday, June 27
Late registration & drop/add period 3 First week of class First week of class
Memorial Day Holiday - No classes Monday, May 30  
Independence Day Holiday - No classes   Monday, July 4
Late drop – LionPATH Student Center 2, 3 View academic calendar deadlines View academic calendar deadlines
Withdrawal – LionPATH Student Center 3 View academic calendar deadlines View academic calendar deadlines
Classes end Wednesday, June 22 Thursday, August 11
Commencement (University Park) 4 Saturday, August 13 Saturday, August 13
FALL 2022
Event Fall Session I Fall Session II
Registration begins for all students Monday, June 6 at noon Monday, June 6 at noon
Intent to graduate activation period 4 August 15 through September 6 August 15 through September 6
Classes begin 1 Monday, August 22 Monday, October 17
Late registration & drop/add period 3 First week of class First week of class
Labor Day - No classes Monday, September 5  
Thanksgiving Break   Sunday, November 20 through Saturday, November 26
Late drop – LionPATH Student Center 2, 3 View academic calendar deadlines View academic calendar deadlines
Withdrawal – LionPATH Student Center 3 View academic calendar deadlines View academic calendar deadlines
Classes end Monday, October 10 Thursday, December 8
Commencement (University Park) 4 Saturday, December 17 Saturday, December 17
SPRING 2023
Event Spring Session I Spring Session II
Registration begins for all students Monday, October 24, 2022, at noon Monday, October 24, 2022, at noon
Intent to graduate 4 January 2 through January 23 January 2 through January 23
Classes begin 1 Monday, January 9 Monday, March 13
Late registration & drop/add period 3 First week of class First week of class
Martin Luther King Day – No classes Monday, January 16  
Spring Break   Tuesday, February 28 through Saturday, March 11
Late drop – LionPATH Student Center 2, 3 View academic calendar deadlines View academic calendar deadlines
Withdrawal – LionPATH Student Center 3

View academic calendar deadlines

View academic calendar deadlines

Classes end Monday, February 27 Thursday, April 27
Commencement (Great Valley) 4 Friday, May 5 Friday, May 5
SUMMER 2023
Event Summer Session I Summer Session II
Registration begins for all students February 2023 February 2023
Intent to graduate 4 May 8 through June 16 May 8 through June 16
Classes begin 1 Monday, May 8 Tuesday, June 27
Late registration & drop/add period 3 First week of class First week of class
Memorial Day Holiday - No classes Monday, May 29  
Juneteenth National Independence Day - No classes Monday, June 19  
Independence Day Holiday - No classes   Tuesday, July 4
Late drop – LionPATH Student Center 2, 3 View academic calendar deadlines View academic calendar deadlines
Withdrawal – LionPATH Student Center 3 View academic calendar deadlines View academic calendar deadlines
Classes end Monday, June 26 Thursday, August 10
Commencement (University Park) 4 Saturday, August 12 Saturday, August 12
FALL 2023
Event Fall Session I Fall Session II
Registration begins for all students Monday, June 5, 2023 at noon Monday, June 5, 2023 at noon
Intent to graduate activation period 4 August 14 through September 5 August 14 through September 5
Classes begin 1 Monday, August 21 Monday, October 16
Late registration & drop/add period 3 First week of class First week of class
Labor Day - No classes Monday, September 4  
Thanksgiving Break   Sunday, November 19 through Saturday, November 25
Late drop – LionPATH Student Center 2, 3 View academic calendar deadlines View academic calendar deadlines
Withdrawal – LionPATH Student Center 3 View academic calendar deadlines View academic calendar deadlines
Classes end Monday, October 9 Thursday, December 7
Commencement (University Park) 4 Saturday, December 16 Saturday, December 16

**These calendars are subject to change without notice. In preparing the calendar for an academic year, it is impossible to avoid conflict with some religious holidays. As conflicts arise, efforts are made to make special arrangements for students affected.

Calendar Footnotes

  1. See course listings for actual course start/end dates.
  2. Student action must be with the Registrar's Office
  3. These dates apply only to courses that begin and end as shown. Contact the Registrar's Office for information on courses with other begin and end dates. Starting with the first day of the class, a tuition penalty may be charged if the course is dropped.
  4. Graduation at Penn State Great Valley is held every spring. See the Spring Academic Calendars for those dates. University Park will mail diplomas to the home addresses.